Through the back of the wardrobe

into Narnia!

Adventures begin at the lamppost!

Narnia, the world in which all adventures begin at the lamppost.

This blog is the result of my desire to liven up the grey dreariness of a dull late January day.

Why the Narnia allusion? Well, adventures in Narnia begin at the lamppost and starting this blog is the beginning of a new adventure for me. Narnia popped into my mind when I came across this photo I took a few years ago. Doesn’t that lamppost look Narnia-ish?

As you can see in the photo, my children enjoy snow and think that winter is a delightful season.

I admit the season has a few merits. My spirits lift when I see glistening white snow and the bright sunlight that shines deep into the house at this time of year. But the brightness is often accompanied by bitter cold and ice! Brrrrr! That combination drives me indoors where I seek warmth.

Which leads to the name of this blog; Ingleside is another word for fireside, a favorite spot of mine in winter. Doesn’t the word ingleside have an infinitely more alluring and pleasing sound than fireside? So brew some tea and come, sit with me by the ingleside.

Leave a Reply

