Complexities

I’m venturing into a new field for me – desktop publishing. Specifically, writing and publishing a knitting pattern. Listen my children and you shall hear the story of how my new endeavor came about…

A few years ago, in the  pre-blogging and pre-ravelry days, I decided to knit a pair of socks for my Good Man. At that time, men’s sock patterns were few and far between. In my mind, Himself being a special guy and all, it wouldn’t do to knit any old pattern for him. His socks had to be special. So I perused my knitting library and found many manly types of patterns in a treasure of a book, Gladys Thompson’s Patterns for Guernseys, Jerseys and Arans. (I tried linking to Amazon’s book page, but couldn’t get the link in the post. Please let me know if you know the trick!)

I adapted one of the patterns to a sock format and knit the Good Man a pair. Behold:

IMG_5088

Socks were duly finished and presented to the Good Man who expressed his appreciation and wore them once or twice. They have since languished in his drawer, making a brief appearance for the purpose of being photographed and entered into my ravelry projects. At that time, Himself not being around, the socks were modeled by moi. A few members of the ravelry crowd expressed admiration for the good gansey socks.

Time passed.

Recently a ravelry sock-knitting group that assigns monthly challenges to its members determined that October’s challenge would include knitting socks designed for men. Interest in the Good Man’s gansey socks arose! Requests for the pattern came my way. Ergo, I am now working on putting my original charts and handwritten notes into a polished, publishable format.

There’s more to publishing a pattern than one would think! I have no fancy graphic or design programs, but I do have a fine sense of visual aesthetics and want the pattern to look polished. Time is of the essence if my fellow knitters are to start knitting on October 1st, so I need to use the programs I have, those being Excel and Word. I pushed the limits of Word and came smack up against a wall at one point; I was trying to get text to conform to the outline of an oval text box. Word doesn’t do that.

So I’m doing the best I can and if I do say so myself, the first page looks sharp!

Pattern will be unveiled soon, hopefully tomorrow.

2 responses to “Complexities

  1. Oh, what fun! Those socks are divine. I’ll bet your pattern will be a huge hit!

  2. I love those socks! How did pattern publishing end up treating you? Any tips? 🙂

Leave a Reply

