Row Gauge

Row gauge matters. My current knitting project combines twisted rib columns with stockinette stitch. Usually one knits ribbing on smaller needles than one would use for stockinette stitch, because the stitches turn out bigger in ribbing than they do in stockinette stitch. I don’t know why that is – perhaps some knitting guru has a good explanation for that phenomenon? Anyway, because I’m knitting my current in the round, using different size needles is not possible. So whatI have are sections of knitting (the twisted rib areas) that are longer than others. With just this much knitted, the twisted rib part is 3/8″ longer than the stockinette part. My question: will it matter in the finished cardigan?

One response to “Row Gauge

  1. Oh, I hate it when row gauge matters. I never know what to do to make it work. 😦 Hope this works out for you.

Leave a Reply

