Art Museums

About yesterday’s photo.

Art Museums are high on my list of places I’d like to spend more time. When I was in college, I took all the art history courses that I could given that my major was not even in the art department. Learning about the development of art, studying the techniques artists used and familiarizing myself with their different styles was fun and those classes offset the much more serious, practical courses I took for my major fields.

After college, when I worked as a young career person in the big city, I became a member of the Art Institute. I frequently went there on my lunch hour and took in one or two galleries. And a few years ago when we went to Washington, D.C. for a week, I spent two days of that week in the National Gallery (and even at that, still didn’t get to see everything I wanted to!).

While my children, to varying degrees, do appreciate beauty and elegance in shape, line, color, etc., none of them seem to have my appetite for art appreciation and my willingness to spend hours in art museums.  If a picture is worth a thousand words, yesterday’s photo speaks volumes about my offspring’s interest in fine art. I took that photo a little over a year ago at the Art Institute. Granted, we had risen early and had had a full day playing tourists at Millenium Park before going to the Art Institute. They had gone through over a dozen galleries by the time I found them as you see in the photo.

There’s something about that photo that tickles my sense of humor. It’s one of my quirky favorites. Do other mothers get a kick out of such offbeat things?

Leave a Reply

