Holiday Entertainment

Over the course of my life I’ve been to many holiday concerts and performed in a few. One memorable year, when I was in grade school, my own baby sister had the starring role in the final tableau that accompanied the last song, “Silent Night”.

Yes, I know.

She was a she and Jesus was a he. I guess no family who had children attending our school had a baby boy who was healthy at the time and could be expected to cooperate. So she played Jesus.

But that’s not the topic of this post. Back to memorable Christmas concerts. In high school I played the flute in the concert band. We tried to add a bit of humor to the traditional Band and Choral Christmas concerts in rather amateur and silly ways. None of which came close to this very unusual performance of the Hallelujah chorus of Handel’s Messiah sung by “Silent Monks”:

2 responses to “Holiday Entertainment

  1. Such fun! I would love to be one of the silent monks!

Leave a Reply

