Why I’m glad today

Last night Rose and I spent the evening out. We talked about a variety of topics, including ancient Rome. For the life of me, I can’t remember how we landed on that subject, but while we were there, she told me that most women’s names in that time were feminized versions of their family name.

Interesting.

Especially interesting given the fact that I have five sisters. So would all six of us have had the same name if we lived in ancient Rome?

Not likely.

Women in ancient Rome apparently didn’t have sisters.

You see, baby boys were valued, but not girls.

So once a family had a daughter, they didn’t welcome any more baby girls.

Since I’m not the oldest of my sisters, I’m glad that I wasn’t born in ancient Rome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

